T20 World Cup: India’s Squad For ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 Announced

T20 World Cup: For the forthcoming ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022, which will be contested in Australia in October-November, the BCCI picked a 15-man squad on Monday, with Rohit Sharma serving as its captain. KL Rahul will continue to be the vice-captain in a star-studded squad that has seen the return of the fit-again pace bowling duo of Jasprit Bumrah and Harshal Patel. The selection is on the expected line, with Rohit, Virat Kohli, Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, and Deepak Hooda selected as specialist batsmen.

The squad’s two all-rounders are Hardik Pandya and Axar Patel. The two wicketkeepers, Dinesh Karthik and Rishabh Pant are in the squad. Bumrah and Harshal have fully recovered from their injuries. And will form the core of the Indian team’s pace attack, including Bhuvneshwar Kumar.

T20 World Cup: Team India’s Bowling Depth

Arshdeep Singh, the left-arm fast bowler, has received recognition for a strong start to his international career. And will add variety to the team’s pace attack. Axar and part-timer Hooda will assist experienced Ravichandran Ashwin and Yuzvendra Chahal in the spin department. While Ravindra Jadeja is out injured, Avesh Khan is the lone member of the Asia Cup team who appears to have been overlooked.

Mohammed Shami, Shreyas Iyer, Deepak Chahar, and young spinner Ravi Bishnoi have been added to the standby list. The T20 World Cup will begin on October 16 and end on November 13 with the final. In Group 2, India is in a pool with Pakistan, South Africa, Bangladesh, and two qualifiers.

On October 23, India plays Pakistan at the Melbourne Cricket Ground to start its season. After losing their first two games to Pakistan and New Zealand, India left the group stage last year. The tournament’s defending champion is Australia.

T20 World Cup: Team India’s Recent Form

Last year in T20 World Cup 2021, Australia defeated New Zealand by seven wickets to win their first-ever T20 World Cup title. India recently faced a poor show in Asia Cup 2022, where they could not even reach the final. The Rohit Sharma-led side lost back-to-back matches against Pakistan and Sri Lanka in the super four round. Which resulted in their elimination from the way to the final.

Sri Lanka defeated Pakistan in the Asia Cup 2022 final match. Ahead of ICC T20 World Cup 2022, India will also play a T20I series against Australia and South Africa.

India Squad For ICC T20 World Cup: Rohit Sharma (captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav. Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), Hardik Pandya. Ravichandran Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh.

Standby Players: Mohd. Shami, Shreyas Iyer, Ravi Bishnoi, Deepak Chahar.

Recent Articles

Related Stories

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay on op - Ge the daily news in your inbox