Wrong call by umpires – Wasim Akram and Russel Arnold accuse officials of saving Deepak Hooda’s wicket

Sri Lanka captain Dasun Shanaka took two important wickets of Suryakumar Yadav and Hardik Pandya in his two-over spell.

He could have his third when Deepak Hooda was caught inside the third-yard circle, but the third umpire judged the delivery a no-ball after the on-field officials referred it upstairs.

Shanaka had bowled a bouncer earlier in the 18th over, which was called a wide.

However, the commentators, Wasim Akram and Russel Arnold were unsatisfied with the decision. They accused the officials of making a wrong decision, which denied Sri Lanka another wicket in a Super 4 stage game of the Asia Cup 2022.

“It would have been a fair delivery in another game, and the umpires robbed Sri Lanka of a wicket. They made a wrong call,” said Arnold.

“It was marginal and should have gone in the bowler’s favor, but the umpires made a wrong decision,” said Akra,

However, Hooda couldn’t cause much damage and was dismissed after scoring just 3 off4 balls.


Recent Articles

Related Stories

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay on op - Ge the daily news in your inbox